Year 2: Unit 10 Week One

Welcome

Welcome to Unit 10  – it’s going to be an exciting term and I’m looking forward to getting to know you and support you in your creative journey.

For those of you who missed this session the attached is a rough outline explaining what my job as a graphic designer entails – from receiving a letter of tender, to providing costs and final designs. As you will see, research in the earlier part of the design process is so vital and during my presentation in class I explained that even after many years in the industry I have still been caught out when I have failed to research the competition! Page 19 of the pdf shows how similar my design was to the Health Lottery brand marque – so it was back to the drawing board for me!

During this course I will endeavour to give an insight into the graphics industry and some useful tips and tricks on how to effectively use Adobe Photoshop, InDesign and Illustrator. Additionally I will deliver workshops on typography, layout and colour theory. I will introduce you to innovative designers and you will need to check my weekly blogs for useful links.

In return I expect good attendance and timekeeping. If you have to miss a session for reasons beyond your control then email as soon as possible on:

C.Rumley@canterburycollege.ac.uk

and I will check your blog to ensure you are still on track with uploading your work.

Presenting Celia at Amber Designs

Let’s get creative and achieve some great grades this year!

 

Week 1 Blog reminder:

Your blog this week needs to respond to the question:

  • How I have analysed the characteristics of my target audience – primary school aged children?
    This could take the form of primary research such as recording an interview with a child to build a profile of this target audience. Questions could include gathering information about the child’s favourite hobbies, holidays, toys, books, TV programme or computer game.  Or you could visit a toy shop, book shop or school and interview staff to gather more information. Evidence can be in any form such as a video clip from your mobile phone, written work or compiled in a graph. You could use questionnaires  – either paper based or online software such as Survey Monkey

    https://www.surveymonkey.co.uk/
    You could also submit evidence of secondary research to support your primary research.
  • What research material have I gathered to show an understanding of the existing learning resources available on the market for primary aged children?
    Evidence could include photos, videos, interviews or written work.

 


IMPORTANT NOTE

Have you remembered to use Harvard referencing throughout your Blog posts?


 

Leave a Reply

